Baconskillz – Salamiskillz – Prociuttoskillz – We gets em.

I have been really into this year long blog-a-thon focused on meat preserving skills. Charcuterie and cheese personally has always represented the good life to me. If I was doing well I would always have more cheese and cured meats around. So I was thrilled to hear about Charcutepalooza started by Mrs. Wheelbarrow’s Kitchen.

If you haven’t paid it any attention you are really missing out. Hundreds of blogs are participating in trying out the techniques and skills covered in Michael Ruhlman’s book – Charcuterie




I haven’t tried any of the challenges yet, but my good neighbor and Mistress of Pigs Terrie Beech is on notice that I will be needing a big chunk of pig someday soon.

I am delaying for now because I need to rig up a curing box like this one from the good folks at Oink Joint. A shout out to Oink Joint and Pork Dork for having the best blog names about all things pig!

Have any of you guys done any charcutrie?

3 thoughts on “Baconskillz – Salamiskillz – Prociuttoskillz – We gets em.

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Baconskillz – Salamiskillz – Prociuttoskillz – We gets em. | Hyperlocavore (The Blog) -- Topsy.com

  2. I haven’t yet, just fresh sausages. I can’t wait to do more though! My father and I are going to go in together on a whole pig. I really want to make some prosciutto and salamis, as well as more fresh sausages. I love homemade sausage!

Leave a Reply

